BSPID holds an annual conference. The goal of the conference is to provide a friendly and dynamic forum for both early career and more established researchers to present their latest work. Please see below for information on the upcoming annual conference and on our previous conferences.


2018 Annual Conference


(local hosts: Dr Michelle Luciano, Prof Timothy Bates of the University of Edinburgh; Dr Mary Stewart and Dr Alan Gow of Heriot-Watt University)

Date: July 12th 2018


Abstract submission deadline:

13th of May 2018

Go to our submissions page.


Keynote speakers

Prof. Paige Harden, Univeristy of Texas at Austin



Prof. Robert Sternberg, Cornell University

Whom Should We Admit to Our Graduate Programs in Psychological Science?  Theory and Data Regarding a New Approach to Graduate Admissions via the Assessment of Reasoning about and Creativity in Scientific Research and Teaching



Previous BSPID Conferences

2017 - University of Kent (local host: Prof Joachim Stoeber)

  • Keynote speakers
    • Prof Dorothy Bishop (University of Oxford)
    • Prof Robert Plomin (King's College, London)

2016 - Nottingham Trent University (local host: Dr Alex Sumich)

  • Keynote speakers
    • Prof Constantine Sedikides (University of Southampton)
    • Prof Mark Griffiths (Nottingham Trent University)

2015 - University of York (local host: Dr Gary Lewis)

  • Keynote speakers
    • Prof Tim Croudace (University of Dundee)
    • Dr Angelica Ronald (Birkbeck, University of London)

2014 - City, University of London (local host: Prof Philip Corr)

  • Keynote speakers
    • Prof Marcus Richards (University College, London)
    • Prof Martin Conway (City, University of London)

2013 - Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology, and Neuroscience, Kings College London (local host: Dr Adam Perkins)

  • Keynote speaker
    • Prof Timothy Bates (University of Edinburgh)

2012 - University of Nottingham (local host: Prof Eamonn Ferguson)

  • Keynote speakers
    • Professor Veena Kumari (Kings College, London)
    • Professor Eamonn Ferguson (University of Nottingham)

2011 - Goldsmiths, University of London (local host: Prof Alan Pickering)

  • Keynote speakers
    • Prof Alan Pickering (Goldsmiths, University of London)
    • Prof Bill Revelle (Northwestern University)

2010 - University of Edinburgh (local host: Dr Beverley Roberts)

  • Keynote speaker:
    • Prof Ian Deary (University of Edinburgh)